The Rocket man!

I’ll start with one of my favorite travel quotations

” If you are brave enough to leave behind everything familiar and comforting which can be anything from your house to bitter, old resentments.. And set out on a truth-seeking journey. Either eternally or internally and if you are truly willing to regard everything that happens to you on that journey as a clue, and if you accept everyone as a teacher and if you are prepared, most of all to face and forgive some very difficult realities about yourself. Then the truth will not be withheld from you”

This blog entry is dedicated to a fellow traveller and a friend. A beautiful soul that walked this earth for way too short time. A true traveller and adventure seeker.

Got terrible news last week, a friend was found deceased on his travels in Asia, Laos. They think it was his heart. If it was his heart or something else, one thing is for sure, he was way too young. Young and living his dream.

I have not known Mikell for long, I met him in Copenhagen and we became good friends. He had a personality that equal to 10 people. His smile and vibrant way of being was highly contagious and we had one thing very much in common.. To travel, passion and love for traveling . Seeing, living experiencing different cultures.

This news has left me with a grief and my heart goes out to his girlfriend, the love of his life, and his family. It has also left me with thoughts, deep thoughts as how delicate life can be.

He headed out with a bike  and a head full of travel plans, open-minded and ready, to make a life long dream come true, as he said. He left his job, home for months to travel. It makes me think about my own travels. There I was, went out for 10 months, jumped into situations that were dangerous, careless, reckless at times by my own will, my own choice. So many things could have gone wrong, so many things could have happened.. But here I am.

Life is only a moment, his death has affected me in such a way I have hard time describing it and put  it into words.

One thing I have decided, he will be remembered on all my future travels, where there is nature, different scenery, country’s and cultures to explore, his dream will still live.

Always remembered never forgotten.

Below is a link to Mikells and Maria’s blog and the last video he made from his trip on his blog.

“Rocket Man”

And the blog

http://mikellandmaria.com/

With these last words and thoughts, my heart goes out to his family and friends. May he rest in peace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Rocket man!

  1. Bob Reeves says:

    Good day, I’m Mikell’s cousin from Florida. That was perfectly said. Thanks for the kind words

    From all his family again, thanks.

Leave a Reply

